peoples march

from the people against injustice in the society

Indian Communists in Solidarity with Nepal People

Posted by ajadhind on July 2, 2008


In a significant move,  about a dozen  and half  parties and organisations of Indian revolutionaries, upholding Marxism-Leninism or Marxism-Leninism- Maoism/Mao Thought shared the same platform publicly  on June 23, 2008  for the first time in the history of Indian revolutionary movement,  unanimously conveying greetings to CPN Maoist for its  victory in recently held Constituent Assembly Election  even as resolutely supporting the present political line – Constituent Assembly Election and Federal Democratic Republic- pursued  by CPN (Maoist).  On this occasion, Chairman of  the CPN (Maoist)  com. Prachand had sent a felicitation letter wishing grand success of the programme jointly organized by Solidarity Initiative for the Revolutionary Struggle in Nepal at University  Institute Hall in Kolkata, the capital of West Bengal, where the spark of legendry  Naxalite movement was ignited  in 1970s. The felicitation  letter states, “certainly, the Constituent Assembly Election has now laid a foundation of Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal and monarchy, the feudal institution, has been demolished but the Nepalese people’s struggle against feudalism and imperialism is by not means over. Therefore the days ahead are more challenging.”. Acknowledging the importance of proletarian  solidarity at  international level the letter further says, “in the present situation of augmenting imperialist offensive, mainly the U.S. we hold that the success of the proletarian revolution in a certain country has been dependent, more than before, on whether or not the proletariat class can develop internationally a strong revolutionary movement to fight imperialism.” Com. Prachanda in his message also added that the present political change in Nepal was not possible had there been no strong solidarity of revolutionary, left and democratic forces and individuals the world over, in general and in India, in particular.

Delivering the keynote address in  the meeting after reading out the felicitation letter of Chairman on behalf of the party  before the large gathering  of  participants who reached to the venue from every corner of West Bengal , party representative and  Provincial Committee Member, com. Laxman Pant said that the victory scored by  Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist) is also the victory of  international proletariat . He further added that this is the victory of Marxism-Leninism- Maoism, the indomitable ideology of the proletariat as well as the defeat of  Khrushchevite  revisionism and parliamentary- ism. It may be noted that West Bengal has been  the stronghold and epicenter  of revisionism in India where parliamentary communists are ruling the province  over three decades. He urged all the forces  that before making any opinion on Nepalese revolution they must make  an overall objective assessment of present world situation  adding that contrary to the favourable objective situation in the period of  Bolsevik  and Chinese revolutions when there was sharp inter-imperialist rivalry and world war, making imperialism and  revisionism weaker, the subjective and objective situation is entirely different and adverse  in our times.  He said although party has achieved vital political and tactical victories, nevertheless the final victory is still far and the class struggle is not over.He further called upon all the participating parties and organization  not to establish any view about party’s ideology,  line, policies and programmes  by going through the media reports and interviews given by the  leaders in the media but by scrutinizing the party’s official statements and documents.

            The list of other speakers who presented their views  in the meeting included  com. Santosh Rana General Secretary of PCC, CPIML and convenor of the organizing committee, Com. Somnath Chaterji, leader, SOC CPI ML, Com. Amrit Paira, leader  Mazdoor Kishan Party com. Sadanand Bagal, West Bengal State Committee, Socialist Unity Centre of India (SUCI), com Animesh Chakrawarty,  CPI-ML Liberation, Com. Pradip Singh Thakur, CPI ML New Democracy, Com. Shukhendu Bhattacharya, Workers Party, Com. Alok Mukherji, CPI ML Janshakti, Com. Prasun Chaterji, Gan Pratirodh Manch, Com. Sukhendu Sarkar, D.M.S., Com. Sailen Bhattacharya, CPI (ML) PCC, Com. Yash Das CCRML, Varnali Mukerji, CPB.  The Other two parties, namely CRLI and CPRM who gave their consent for the programme, however, could not make it to the programme.  The meeting was chaired by the  three-member Presidium namely com. Sukhendu Bhattacharya, com. Sadanand Bagal and Com Pradip Banerji . All the speakers, unanimously stressed the need to build  a strong Indian people’s  solidarity movement  in support of Nepalese revolution and resolutely resist the external intervention from Indian expansionism and U.S. imperialism. They expressed the view that Nepali revolution has provided renewed energy to the revolutionaries  in India and world over. In the final  a resolution was passed jointly.  The joint resolution adopted by fourteen parties  states that “The people of Nepal have achieved significant victory in the long drawn struggle for abolition of monarchy and establishment of democracy and democratic  republic under the leadership of Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist). This assembly express its solidarity  with the Nepalese  people and sends its revolutionary  greetings for the victories achieved by them under the leadership of CPN (Maoist). At the same time this assembly is severely condemning U.S. imperialism and  Indian expansionism  and other reactionaries who are trying to interfere in the internal affairs of Nepal and  is  expressing its resolve in support of revolutionary  struggle of Nepali people led by CPN (M). The resolution was tabled before the meeting by Com. Santosh Rana. The proceedings were conducted by Com. Pradip Banerji. On this occasion a momento was presented to the  Chairman of CPN (M) by CPI ML Janshati which was  received by com. Laxman Pant on behalf of the party. The programme came to an end after a vote of thanks by com. Sukhendu Bhattacharya on behalf of the Presidium.

New Delhi  28 June 2008

                                                                                                          Laxman Pant


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: